The British flag

The British Flag

The British flag or Union Jack is the national flag of the United Kingdom.

In this article, we will tell you everything you need to know about this beautiful flag.

british flag

Meaning of the United Kingdom Flag

In 1674 the English flag was nicknamed the ‘Union Jack’ after it was flown on a ship while out of harbour. On land, the British flag was called the “Union flag” throughout this time.

The Union Jack flag is made of three colours, representing the red cross of England, the white cross of Scotland, and the blue saltire of Ireland.

There are three crosses on the British flag:

  1. An upright red cross called St. George’s Cross on a white background
  2. A diagonal white cross called St. Andrew’s Cross on a blue background
  3. A diagonal red cross called St. Patrick’s Cross

The Union Jack British flag was originally designed as a symbol of cooperation between the three countries of England, Scotland and Ireland.

History of the British Flag

The design of the flag of England dates back to at least 1603. The flag combines the characteristics of the three constituent countries of Great Britain:

  • England
  • Scotland
  • Northern Ireland

A royal decree from 12 April 1606 said that a new flag should be used to show the royal union between England and Scotland.

As soon as the Acts of Union were signed in 1707, the flag became the flag of the Kingdom of Great Britain.

The current design of the Union Flag was created on December 1, 1801. The flag contains three crosses: one large cross and two smaller crosses.

The flag, made in 1938, has a lion on a pair of crossed blades and the Crown of St. Edward on a red field. This ensign may be used when regimental flags and the Union Jack do not suit the occasion.

What Does the British Flag Symbolize?

The British flag symbolizes the union between the kingdoms of England, Scotland and Ireland.

The flag represents elements of three previous national flags:

  • The red cross of St. George for the Kingdom of England
  • The white saltire of St. Andrew for Scotland
  • The red saltire of St. Patrick for Ireland

Status of the British Flag in England

In the United Kingdom, the Union Flag has no official status and there are no rules on how it should be used or penalties for people who disrespect the flag.

The Northern Ireland Flag Regulations allow the flag to be flown on certain days, when to fly at half-mast and how to display it alongside other flags in Northern Ireland.

As in other nations, there is no standard way to fold the Union Flag. It usually folds linearly with the hoist on the outside.

Reverse British Flag

Turning the flag upside down is considered by some to be an insult to the crown. But it can be reversed as a danger signal.

What is the Difference Between the Union Jack and the British Flag?

The British flag is called the Union Jack because it brings together the crosses of three countries under one Sovereign: The Kingdoms of England and Wales, the kingdoms of Scotland and Ireland.

Why is wales not on the British flag?

The reason for the lack of wales on the british flag is that Wales was already united with England at the time the first Union Flag was made in 1606.

Why are there two flags for England?

There is actually only one flag for England which is The flag of St George, om the other hand the white, blue and red colored flag is the United Kingdom flag.

Similar Posts